top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoel Griffiths

NEIL ATKINSON: Sky are learning from fan media

I wanted to understand Neil's perception of how fan media is or isn't embraced by the mainstream media. His answer intrigued me.


"They're backing their football people to talk and to be themselves"

Neil spoke introspectively about the work of Sky on their renowned MNF show, surprising me a little. I assumed being from a fan media background he wouldn't agree with the way they produced the show.


Contrary to that, he was massively impressed and introduced me to the theory that broadcasters are taking aspects from fan media to stay in touch with the changing football landscape.


Whilst I don't 100% agree that this is the case, it was an interesting point and one I wish I could've explored in more detail in the final documentary.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page